• Winston County to Get FEMA Aid

    Governor Robert Bentley announced Thursday that aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency had been approved for 39 counties in Alabama to cover damage from the December 24-31 storms.

    Colbert, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lawrence, and Marshall in North Alabama were all approved.

    The Marshall County EMA Director estimates about $1.477 million in damage in their county with seven roads still closed.

    Jackson County is facing about $700,000 in damage.

    Lawrence County has about $500,000 in damage.

    In DeKalb County, they’ve got about $400,000 in flooding damage.

    Franklin County, about $300,000 in damages.

    Colbert County has about $220,000 in damage.

    The counties included in this declaration are Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Pike, Perry, Russell, St Clair, Walker, and Winston.

    The disaster declaration makes local governments in the 39 Alabama counties eligible to apply for assistance. The grant provided by the Federal Emergency Management Agency may assist the impacted counties with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain Private Non-Profit organizations.