4,254 registered users!
HBTV | HBTV5 | 3WH | News & Information
Return to the Home Page
Saturday, May 18, 2024

2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

HHS Spring Sports Banquet

By Sam Poe
Tuesday, May 14, 2013 | 10:05 PM

The Haleyville High School Spring Sports Banquet was held Tuesday night. Awards for all spring sports were given, and the athletes were recognized for their achievements. All awards are listed below according to the sports played.

Baseball: Three seniors were recognized and given the honorary team captain awards, as voted on by their teammates: Trey Williams, Tanner Ivey, and Bradley Bailey. Bailey will continue his baseball career at the University of North Alabama, and he has been chosen to participate in the North South All-Star Game this summer. Ivey will likely also continue his baseball career, but he has not officially signed with any school at this time. Williams has also received numerous academic scholarships to continue his education. Individual baseball awards were given as follows: Gold Glove (Best Defensive Player)- Tanner Ivey, Highest Batting Average- Ben Richards, Lowest ERA- Andrew Townsend, Strike Out Award- Bradley Bailey, RBI Award- Bradley Bailey, Slugger Award- Ben Richards, Scholar Athlete- Tanner Ivey, and Lions Hustle Award- Ross Putman. Coach Todd McNutt also dedicated a Special Service Award to David Albright for his committment to HHS Athletics.

Golf: Seniors Jayci Hamrick and Lee Lann were awarded Medalists (MVP) Awards and were recognized for their leadership and achievements on the course. Lann will continue to his golf career at the University of West Alabama. Hamrick will continue her golf career at Point University in Georgia. Individual awards given are as follows: Most Improved- Colton Russell, Academic Awards- Jayci Hamrick, Brooke Harrison, and Ethan Mobley, and the Ruth Donaldson Award- Tia White.

Softball: Coach Kelly Rushing recognized his team and presented a plaque for being the North Regional Champions in 4A Softball. The softball team currently has a 41-12 record, which is a tie for the most wins of any softball team in Haleyville High School history. The Lady Lions will participate in the state tournament Thursday and Friday in Montgomery, where they are looking to be the first public school in Alabama 4A Softball to earn back to back state titles. The team has four seniors, who have all signed scholarships to continue their education. Lacey Burleson will play shortstop for Calhoun State Community College. Sydney Kiser will play catcher for Calhoun State Community College. Callie Pendley will play third base at Columbia State University. Alli O'Rear received a four year academic scholarship to Jacksonville State University. Holly Ward (junior) was also recognized for her achievements on the team. Ward has verbally committed to Mississippi State University and will participate in the North South All-Star Game this summer. She has also reached more than 1,300 strikeouts in her career as a Lady Lion.

Tennis: The tennis teams of Haleyville High School had a successful season. The girls' team finished just shy of the state tournament, but they boys' team competed in the first round of state play. They also finished as one of the Top 10 teams in the state. Members of the All Sectional Team were Brandon Santa-Maria and Caitlyn Foster. Awards for the teams were as follows: Highest GPAs- Leah Tyson and Brandon Santa-Maria, Miss Tennis- Carly Banks, and Mr. Tennis- Connor Hood.

Track: This year's track team was composed of eight members who qualified for the state track meet. Those athletes were Adam Benefield, Shelby Knauf, Matt Smith, Cade Minor, Allie Silas, Erica Pierce, Amber Willis, and Daisy Hernandez. Adam Benefield will also continue his running career at the University of North Alabama with a cross country scholarship. Individual MVP awards in each division were given as follows: Sprint/Hurdle- Matt Smith and Allie Silas, Field Events- Cade Minor and Haley Wise, Middle Distance Runners- Adam Benefield and Shelby Knauf, Scholar Athlete- Devin Knight, Mr. Track and Field- Adam Benefield, and Miss Track and Field- Shelby Knauf. The Mr. Berringer Award was also presented to Adam Benefield.

Posted in Sports