4,254 registered users!
HBTV | HBTV5 | 3WH | News & Information
Return to the Home Page
Thursday, May 30, 2024

2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

City Election on 23 August

Friday, July 8, 2016 | 3:07 PM

Below is information you should know about the upcoming Haleyville City Election on August 23. As of Friday, July 8, the following candidates have qualified to run for the offices listed: 

Haleyville Mayor: Ken Sunseri and Valeria Mae Burchanan Taylor.

Haleyville City Council

Place 1: Royce Benefield

Place 2: Drew Thrasher

Place 3: George H. Russell and Christopher Jordan Wilson

Place 4: Jonathan Bennett

Place 5: Richard "Bicycle" Bittinger

Haleyville City School Board

Place 4: Kris Burleson

Place 5: Donna Jamerson Jones and Steven "Bud" Wilson 

Tuesday, August 23, 2016, an election will be held for the purpose of electing a mayor and five councilmen for the City of Haleyville.  The mayor and all five seats on the council will be on the ballot.  All registered and qualified electors of the state who have resided within the corporate limits of Haleyville, AL for 30 days or more immediately preceding the date of the election, and who are qualified to vote in the county precinct which embraces and covers that part of the corporate limits of Haleyville, Alabama in which the elector resides will be authorized to participate in the Election at the Neighborhood Facility Building (NFB) and the 21st Street Gym.

Also, an election for the purpose of electing School Board Members for Place #4 and Place #5 of the Haleyville School System will be held on the same date as the Haleyville Municipal Election, and that all registered and qualified voters of the state who reside in the school district of Winston County who vote at the Neighborhood Facility Building (NFB), the 21st Street Gym, Crossway Church, Pebble Fire Station, and Beat 10, Box 1 at the Delmar Fire Department, and have resided therein for 30 days or more immediately preceding the date of such election will be authorized to participate in said election.

The polls will be opened at 7:00 a.m. and will close at 7:00 p.m. at all the aforementioned polling places

Any run-off election will be held on October 4, 2016, at the same places and time as stated above.

Any qualified elector who will have resided within the municipality for the Municipal Election or the Winston County School District for School Board for a period of at least 90 days on Election Day may qualify to run for office by filing the appropriate forms and paying any appropriate fees, as otherwise provided by law.

The Municipal Elections Manager began accepting Statements of Candidacy at on Tuesday, July 5, 2016. No Statement of Candidacy for this election will be accepted later than Tuesday, July 19, 2016, at 5:00 p.m.

A candidate for municipal office or school board must file a Statement of Economic Interests, unless one is currently on file, with the State Ethics Commissionhttp://ethics.alabama.gov simultaneously with the date the candidate files his or her qualifying papers or his name shall not appear on the ballot. 

Posted in