4,254 registered users!
HBTV | HBTV5 | 3WH | News & Information
Return to the Home Page
Sunday, May 19, 2024

2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

Honoring Local First Responders

By Sam Poe
Thursday, February 21, 2013 | 1:02 PM

The 9-1-1 Summit, hosted by the Haleyville Chamber of Commerce, was a special day for local First Responders.  Throughout Wednesday, there were classes for the responders, military weapons displays, military vehicle displays, and a wall of heroes that included photos of all Alabama natives who have been killed in action since September 2001.  The evening service began with a re-enactment of the flag raising at Iwo Jima by the Howlin "Mad" Smith Marine Corps League.  The day closed with an awards ceremony and a religious service.  The keynote speaker for the event was Chaplain Mitch Nethery, Major, Alabama National Guard. 

Awards given to local First Responders are listed below (in no particular order): 

L. V. Ledford - continuous service to Winston County since 1975 (Arley)

Chief George Gibson - continuous service to Winston County since 1975 (Arley)

Josh Everett - Police Officer of the Year for the City of Arley

Joe Duncan - Excellence in Service for the Northwest Alabama Region for the Alabama Department of Public Safety

Chief Kim Miller - Double Springs Police Department Employee of the Year

Tim Webb - Winston County 911 Excellence Award

Jeff Marksberry - President of the Winston County Firefighters Association

Randal Loden - Dispatcher of the Year for the City of Haleyville

Dustin "Bubba" Witt - Police Officer of the Year for the City of Haleyville

Phillip Weaver - Director of Emergency Management for the City of Haleyville

Terrell Baccus - Firefighter of the Year for the City of Haleyville

Greg Glass - Driver of the Year for the Haleyville Fire Department

SGT Terry Hanner - Military First Responders Award for outstanding service in Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan with the 115th ESB in 2012 

Group Recognition Awards:

  • Double Springs Fire Department
  • Double Springs Police Department
  • Winston County Sherriff's Office Dispatchers
  • Winston County Sherriff's Office Reserves for their work with Project Lifesaver
  • Winston County Sherriff's Office 
  • Winston County 911 Communication Operators
  • Addison Police Department
  • Addison Volunteer Fire Department 
  • Haleyville Police Department
  • Haleyville Rescue Squad
  • Haleyville Street Department
  • Haleyville Fire and Rescue
Posted in