HCS Bands Honored

On Saturday, May 4, the Haleyville Band Booster Club hosted the annual Band Banquet at the Ninth Avenue Church of Christ, Fellowship Hall.  Booster Club President, Kevin Thompson, welcomed approximately 250 guests and introduced Representative Tracy Estes (Alabama House District 17) as the speaker for the evening.  After dinner, the group heard a speech about teamwork from Representative Estes.  Estes commented that it takes teamwork to earn what you have going on here at Haleyville.  Following Estes, Thompson recalled how many events the band had performed together and remarked about how they represented the “Home of Champions” every time they stepped onto a field or stage.  He urged band members to “make it yours” and to “leave your mark on this program” and take it to the next level.  Following Thompsons remarks, the program was turned over to Majorette Representative, Mrs. Amy Farris, and Color Guard Representative, Mrs. Kerry Brown spoke to the group about the Auxiliary.  Directors Mr. Reggie Tolbert and Mr. Judd Williams closed out the evening with remarks, handed out an array of awards, and hinted at 2019 on field production for marching season. Haleyville Middle School Director and Assistant Haleyville High School Assistant Director:  Mr. Judd Williams; Haleyville High School Band Director: Mr. Reggie Tolbert

Roaring Lion Band Senior members: (L-R) Maegan Martin, Samantha Lyon, Zoe Smith, Lauryn Jones, Logan Smitherman, Paige Davis, Kara Thrasher, Megan Springer, Briley Burleson, Harmony Thomas, Reagan Brooks, and Matthew Thompson.

Eighth-grade band members earned their Letter.

Ken Williams Award winners: (L-R) Gracie Blaylock, Emma Donaldson, John Mark Mayhall, and Erin Morris

Most Outstanding 8th Grade band members: (L-R) Ampelia Luna and Ben Cofield

Most Outstanding Auxiliary Member: Kara Thrasher

Most Dedicated Band Member: John Mark Mayhall

Most Improved Band Member Myla Brown

Most Outstanding Work Ethic:  Dane Mashburn

Most Outstanding Member:  Matthew Arnall

Most Outstanding Musician:  Jenna Brown

Lion Pride Award: Matthew Thompson and Jenna Brown